Welcome Program Information Culture Dates - prices Photo-tour Contact Guestbook

  Great desert route  
  The other Egypt  
  Magic oases  
  Individual and Family  
  Local tours  
     

Local tours in Bawiti and environment

In Bawiti is much to experience.

prog_5_01Bahariya is actually a great cultural place and there are still treasures excavated from ancient times today. Large parts of the oasis are defined by the government, because no one may counts and / or building. Chances are that there are many historical discoveries will be made. Recently the cultural sites are officially made available to the public, before there were even tourists but now one may only visit the locations led by a guide and with a valid ticket.




The tomb of Amenhotep Huy (18th/19th dynasty)

On the hill of Qarat al-Helwa is the tomb of Amenhotep Huy from the 18th or 19th Dynasty. This tomb of the New Kingdom (c. 1550 -. 1069 BC) was discovered in 1900 by German Georg Steindorff. It is so far the oldest tomb that was found in Bahariya. Amenhotep Huy was governor of Bahariya. His tomb was excavated in a sandstone hill and consists an entrance hall with two sandstone pillars. A second hall has four pillars and three small burial chambers. In the two halls are not only burial and religious scenes to see. There are also images of harvesting grain and the manufacture of wine to honour the pharaohs from the Nile Valley.

Qasr Selim (Tombs of Bannentiu and Zed-Amun-ef-Ankh)

prog_5_02Bahariya knew golden age during the reign of Ahmose II (570-526 BC), in the 26th dynasty. In this time Zed Khonsu ef-ankh was the governor of Bahariya. After 525 BC Egypt fell into the hands of the Persians. In a small hill of Qasr Selim are two tombs from the 26th Dynasty found in 1938. One of the merchant Zed-Amun-ef-ankh and the other belongs to his son Bannentiu. Both tombs have beautiful decorations. In the pillars and walls of the tomb of Bannentiu are four holes carved by a schoolteacher. Fortunately he was caught with the stolen blocks at the airport in Cairo. Unfortunately, the four blocks not returned to Qasr Selim in Bahariya. They are now on display at the Egyptian Museum in Cairo. Both tombs have been looted and reused in the Roman period (30 BC - 640 AD), but the murals are intact and show brilliantly collared scenes of Bannentiu brought to Osiris, a scene where Anubis and Horus his heart roads, the trip to the sun with the solar bark together with the gods Hathor, Anubis, Isis, Horus, Nephthy, Horus and Anubis Hat-Mehyt.

The ruins of the tomb of Alexander the Great

In 331 BC. Alexander the Great arrived in Bahariya after his visit to the Oracle of Siwa. In honor of this occasion, the temple was built. It is in any case, the only temple in Egypt dedicated to Alexander the Great. The bicameral sanctuary is decorated with bas-relief sculptures. There is little left but on a wall is a scene depicted where Alexander the Great sacrifices to Amun-Ra and Horus.

Valley of the Golden Mummies

In 1996 were, the tombs of the "golden mummies" discovered. In every tomb are two rows of 12 mummies - adults and children - ranked in the Roman style, with their feet to the wall and with the heads to the aisle. Some mummies have golden masks. Probably about 10,000 mummies are buried here. Three gilt, beautifully decorated mummies along with a baby mummy, whose his / her face is modelled on display in the small museum of Bawiti in the shape of a Horus-mouth.

The Tempe Lain al-Muftella

Ain al-Muftella was once a water source and provided al-Qasr Bawiti of water. The Temple of Ain al-Muftilla is located near the old town al-Qasr Bawiti. Georg Steindorff discovered in 1901 one of the four temples. The Egyptian archaeologist Ahmed Fakhry discovered the other three in 1938. The four temples are built of sandstone and dating from the 26th dynasty, during the reign of Pharaoh Ahmose II (c. 570-526 BC.). The stone temple has four chapels and is decorated with sunken reliefs. High Priest Zed-Khonsu-ef-ankh built a part of the temple. His brother Sheben-Khonsu was governor of the district during the reign of Ahmose II (c. 570-526 BC.). After the death of Sheben-Zed-Khonsu; Khonsu-ef-ankh took the position of Governor of him. He was also the second prophet of the god Amon, a very important post. It was Steindorff who discovered on one of the walls of a chapel the names of Pharaoh Ahmose, of Zed-Khonsu-ef-ankh and his brother. In the temple are a number of paintings to see where Pharaoh Ahmose II and the Governor sacrifice together. Similar scenes can be found in various temples from the same time in Upper Egypt.

Temple of Bes

A resident of Bawiti discovered the temple of Bes in 1988 when he found a basalt stone with the cartouche of Pharaoh Amenhotep IV (Akhenaten, - ca 1352-1336 BC) from the 18th dynasty. In the temple they found a 120-centimeter tall image of Bes, the protector of mothers and children. It is so far the only temple in Egypt, dedicated to the dwarf god Bes. The construction of the temple started in the Greek period (332-30 BC) and complemented in the Roman period (30 BC -640 AD). The image of Bes is now on display at the Egyptian Museum in Cairo.

The English houseprog_5_03

From the 50-meter high Jebel al-Mi'ysrah you have a beautiful view over the oasis and the surrounding villages Agouz and Mandisha. Jebel al-Mi'ysrah is also called the Black Mountain. Another nickname of this mountain is Jebel el-Ingleez, English mountain. The mountain has a ruin of an English lookout, which in the First World War led by Captain Williams was used to observe the army troops of Sanusi (Libya).

Jebel Dist

In 2001, at Jebel Dist, also called the Pyramid Mountain, bones of the third largest dinosaur in the world, the Paralititan Stromeri, were found. The dinosaur is named after the German palaeontologist Ernst Stromer (1870 - 1952) who between 1911 and 1914 was the first one who researched area. Stromer found the fossil remains of three carnivorous dinosaurs at Jebel Dist. These dinosaurs lived here in the Cretaceous Period (145-66 million years ago).

Around Bawiti.

Coptic Church of St. George

In the most southern village of al-Haiz lying in Bahariya oasis can be found the ruins of the Coptic Church of St. George. It is built between the 4th and 5th centuries. Together with the Christian church in Bagawat in the Kharga oasis have these two churches a very important place in Christian history. According to Abu Salih, a Christian historian, the relics and the decapitated body of St. Bartholomew, one of the disciples of Jesus, is buried here.

Qasr Masuda

Near the Coptic Church of St. George were the remains of a Roman fort called Qasr Masuda find. It was one of the most northerly of the Roman garrisons in the Western Desert for the monitoring of trade routes.

Black Desert

prog_5_04 Just outside Bawiti starts the Black Desert with its dozens and dozens of black hilltops. This area consists of volcanic basalt and limestone rose. From the mountain al-Zuqaq you have a beautiful view over the Black Desert.









Crystal Mountain

South of the village of al-Haiz, on the way to the White Desert, we come first along the Crystal Mountains. The Bedouins call one this mountains Hagar al-Makhrum, 'Rock with a hole. " The area, includes this "Crystal Mountain", is studded with crystals and crystal rock formations. A rock of Khoman limestone, with stalactites and stalagmites is very photogenic by the calcite crystals.

Aqabat

prog_5_05Just south of Crystal Mountain is Aqabat, what "difficult" means, because of the many sand dunes in this beautiful pastel hill area, which ask a lot of skill of the drivers requires to traverse this area.








Cave Djara

Through the village of el-Hara, one passes beautiful areas, including the Pyramid Mountains and the sand dunes of Abu Ghard Muharrik before reaching Cave Djara. Ghard Abu Muharrik is one of the longest dune belt of Egypt and is about 35,000 years ago originated.
Djara Cave was discovered by Gerhard Rohlfs (1831 - 1896) when he travelled in 1873 from Darb Aysut to Farafra. And 100 years later, in 1989, rediscovered by Carlo Bergmann. The entrance to the cave begins as a fissure in the ground. Through a small opening you can enter the cave. He consists of a large and two smaller spaces. It's amazing what you find here below the desert floor. In the big room are beautiful bright white stalactites, but also in other colors. And on a rock in the cave petroglyphs of ostriches, ibex, antelope and other animals can be seen. The drawings on this limestone rock are dated between 8000 and 5000 BC.